Skip to main content
ILLINOIS REAL ESTATE POST-LICENSE
$175.00
or
Enroll Now, Pay Later.
Credit:
  • 15 Hour(s) Post-License Education
Course 1 of 2: Broker Post-License Topics - Online Distance Education

Course Highlights

Online Icon  Online Distance Education

Broker post-license education can be completed anywhere at any time with this Online Distance Education course. No final exam is required.

New brokers are required to complete the post-license education requirement before their first license renewal. Continuing education is not required during the first renewal period.

This course:

  • Is intended to reinforce your understanding of the concepts you learned in the pre-license program.
  • Provides useful insight and practical awareness of the proper application of the laws and rules.
  • Is a modern, easy-to-complete, and informative course that was created just for Illinois real estate professionals.

About This Course

You may enroll in this 15 credit-hour course, however in order to renew your new real estate broker license in Illinois, you must complete a total of 30 credit hours of broker post-license education. Save $100 by enrolling in our discounted Complete Broker Post-License Package.

Course topics include:

  • Working with buyers and sellers
  • Foreclosures
  • Advertising regulations
  • Agent safety
  • Other laws related to disclosures and real estate practices
AgentEDU-Promo

For a limited time, your enrollment includes exclusive discounts to professional development training from AgentEDU®!

Notes:

  1. This course does not require a final exam.  It is delivered in an interactive format.
  2. Upon enrollment, you will receive your username/password that is required to access online courses.
  3. You must complete a total of 30 hours of post-license education before your first renewal.
  4. If you have not already completed the 15-hour Broker Post-License Applied Real Estate Practices course, enroll in the Complete Broker Post-License Package, a discounted 30-hour program.
Frequently Asked Questions

Learn more about this license type and program:

View FAQs
IL Real Estate Post-License - Broker

This is my first time renewing my Broker license. How many hours of education must I complete?

The Real Estate License Act was recently amended and newly licensed brokers have different education requirements, depending on the date of license issuance

Licensed before 8/9/19:

Requirements:

  • 30 credit-hours of post-license, consisting of:
    • Broker Post-License Topics (15 hours)
    • Broker Post-License Applied Real Estate Practices (15 Hours)
  • 1 hour of Sexual Harassment Prevention training.

Licensed on and after 8/9/19:

Requirements:

  • 45 credit-hours of post-license, consisting of three 15 credit hour courses.
  • Sexual Harassment Prevention training will be included in the 45-hour curriculum.
  • The IDFPR has just announced detailed curriculum requirements for these new courses. We anticipate these courses will become available in early 2020.

How many package options do you have to satisfy the 30 hour Post-License requirement?

We offer two convenient package options. One package includes 15 hour of Post-License Applied via a two-day live class and 15 hours of Post-License Topics self-study. At the end of your second day of class, you will test on your Post-License Topics course. There is no testing requirement for Post-License Applied class.

Our other package includes both the 15 hours of Topics and the 15 hours of Applied offered via online distance education. There is no proctored final exam at the end of these programs as online distance education does not require a final examination.

Which Brokers must complete post-license education?

Newly-licensed brokers, who earned their license by completing a 90 credit-hour pre-license program and passing the state licensing exam, are required to complete post-license education before their first license renewal. This one-time requirement is a follow up to pre-license training and it takes the place of continuing education, which is required for all subsequent renewals.

The Real Estate License Act was recently amended and newly licensed brokers have different education requirements, depending on the date of license issuance

Licensed before 8/9/19:

Requirements:

  • 30 credit-hours of post-license, consisting of:
    • Broker Post-License Topics (15 hours)
    • Broker Post-License Applied Real Estate Practices (15 Hours)
  • 1 hour of Sexual Harassment Prevention training.

Licensed on and after 8/9/19:

Requirements:

  • 45 credit-hours of post-license, consisting of three 15 credit hour courses.
  • Sexual Harassment Prevention training will be included in the 45-hour curriculum.
  • The IDFPR has not yet announced detailed curriculum requirements for these new courses. We anticipate these courses will become available in early 2020.

Do I also need continuing education in my first renewal as a Broker?

No. New Broker licensees are only required to complete post-license education in their first renewal. Continuing education will be required for all subsequent renewals.

However, new Brokers must complete an additional education requirement on Sexual Harassment Prevention.  This is in addition to the 30 hours of Post-License training.

Do I need to complete a Sexual Harassment Prevention course?

Yes, 1 hour of Sexual Harassment Prevention training is required to be completed during each license renewal period.  This course must be completed live or online. Self-study is not permitted.

How do I know if this is my first license renewal period?

We recommend that you determine the "Original Issue Date" for your license one of two ways:

  1. Lookup your license at the IDFPR website. Note the "Original Issue Date."
  2. Call 800-995-1700 to speak with one of our knowledgeable customer service representatives. We'll review your state licensing record and explain your requirements.

Does post-license require a school final examination?

The 15-hour Broker Post-License Topics course requires a final exam when completed in a self-study format. The exam must be proctored by an impartial third party.  If you are enrolled in Real Estate Institute's Complete 30 hour Post-License package, this exam will be administered on the second day of your class.

The 15-hour Broker Post-License Applied Real Estate Practices course may only be offered via interactive delivery formats, which do not require a final exam. Interactive delivery includes live class, webinar, or online distance education.

What is the difference between self-study and online distance education?

Self-study courses are book based courses (either PDF of printed) that allow you to define your own course of study and then demonstrate proficiency by passing a proctored final exam. Our self-study courses include printed materials that are mailed to you upon request.

Online distance education courses are presented strictly in an online format. You will complete the course in the sequence specified by the school and your progress will be tracked along the way. The course material is divided into sections or modules of instruction, which are followed by knowledge checks that help ensure you retain and understand the course subject matter. No final exam is required for online distance education courses.

We offer our 15 hour Broker Post-License Topics course in both formats.

After I complete the 30 post-license program, will I have to pass a state exam (at the exam center)?

No state exam is required, since you are already licensed.

Where can I take the self-study course final examination?

The self-study exam will be administered at the end of the two day on-site class.

Will the school report my credit to the state upon successful completion of my course(s)?

Yes. Upon successful completion of the program, the school will electronically report your course completion to Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP). AMP then transfers the information to the IDFPR. Additionally, you will be issued a transcript for your records.

Are Real Estate Institute's courses approved by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation?

Yes. Real Estate Institute offers pre-license, post-license, and continuing education programs that are approved by the IDFPR and have been specifically designed to satisfy your licensing requirements.

I'm not active in real estate; do I have to take post-license education?

Yes. To renew your license you must satisfy the post-license requirement prior to your first renewal. Although you may be inactive in the real estate business, you are not exempt from the requirement.

Do you have a list of class dates and times I can choose from?

Yes. You can view a list of upcoming post-license classes here

Does the self-study Broker Post-License Topics course include practice questions to help me prepare for the final exam?

Yes. The Broker Post-License Topics course included printed and online practice questions with answers to help you check your knowledge and prepared for the course final exam.

What happens if I fail the final examination for a self-study course?

A score of 75% or higher is required by law to pass. In the event that you fail a final exam, one retake of the exam is allowed on a different day.

Are Attorneys exempt from Real Estate education?

All attorneys who are currently registered to practice law in Illinois are exempt for all real estate education requirements, but must submit the required renewal fee and application to the IDFPR.  Attorneys are also exempt for completing the new Sexual Harassment Prevention course.

What is the school's refund policy?

School policies, including our refund policy, can be viewed here.


Real Estate Institute is approved by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.
Education Provider #515.000001